Football 3 years ago

Olyroos the only focus for Vidmar

  • Olyroos the only focus for Vidmar

Struggling Melbourne Victory have lost five players to the Australian under-23 squad for the Rio Olympic qualifiers in Qatar next month.

Olyroos coach Aurelio Vidmar on Wednesday named his 23-man squad for the AFC U-23 championships, where the top three teams qualify for next year's Games.

Defending A-League champions Victory, who are on a four-game losing streak, will be without Thomas Deng, Giancarlo Gallifuoco, Scott Galloway, Jason Geria and Connor Pain for four games after January 3 if the Olyroos make the final.

You might also like

Overseas-based players Terry Antonis (PAOK, Greece), Daniel de Silva (Roda JC Kerkrade, Holland), Josh Brilliante (Calcio Como, Italy) and Chris Ikonomidis (Lazio, Italy) were also named.

The Olyroos, who missed out on London 2012, are in Group D of the 16-team tournament and begin their campaign against the United Arab Emirates on January 14, before facing Vietnam (January 17) and Jordan (January 20).

Olyroos squad:

Mustafa Amini , Terry Antonis, Brandon Borrello, Josh Brilliante, Cameron Burgess, Daniel De Silva, Thomas Deng, James Donachie, Jack Duncan, Ryan Edwards, Giancarlo Gallifuoco, Scott Galloway, Jason Geria, Alex Gerbasch, Andrew Hoole, Chris Ikonomidis, Paul Izzo, Aaron Lennox, Jamie Maclaren, Stefan Mauk, Connor Pain, Adam Taggart, Steven Ugarkovic.

0 0
please wait...